Why I chose Umbraco?


There are so many CMS systems out there that it is quite mind boggling to decide which one to use. I didn’t want to have to install each and everyone of them to learn which one would best suit my needs and therefore decided to use the next best thing. I made my choice based upon what other developers had to say regarding each CMS. It came down to choosing between Kentico and Umbraco and obviously I chose the latter because:

  1. It is free, open source and has an active development community.
  2. It is .NET based which is definitely my development language of choice.
  3. In my previous job I had some play time with Site Core (What is it with Danes and CMS?:P) with which I was very impressed with and various blogs mentioned that they actually prefered Umbraco over Site Core.

This was of course an educated guess and maybe there are better CMSes out there. However, so far I am very happy with the choice I’ve made and I will explain why in the next post.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Umbraco blogs

Leave a Reply

