Learning NHibernate


The past year has been very hectic and hence why this blog hasn’t been updated as much as I would have liked it to be. One of the things that I have had to learn is NHibernate and it certainly hasn’t been easy but hopefully now that I have a bit more free time, I hope to be able to contribute something back to anyone who might be starting out on this journey.

This post and the related series of posts, that I intend to write, will not be fully comprehensive but rather are useful notes for myself and hopefully others. Were I to start learning NHibernate today, here are the resources I’d tackle in the following order:

  • NHibernate in Action – This is really a loaded book and I have only been able to read upto chapter 7. Despite covering NHibernate 1.2, this book is a must in my opinion as it provides the foundations of NHibernate.
  • Summer of NHibernate – This is an excellent series of video tutorials on how to actually “use” NHibernate. Moreover, the source code that he uses in the tutorial is available for download.

My series on NHibernate will be based on the Summer of NHibernate series which only covers version 1.2. Since then there have been various changes and enhancements to NHibernate (NH) and effectively my series on NH will aim be to “rewrite” some of the code from these tutorials and use technologies such as Loquacious NH.

So here are the technologies and their versions that I’ll be basing my series upon:

  • NH 3.2 – This will include things such as Loquacious NH and the QueryOver API
  • NUnit – I am using this simply because I am more familiar with NUnit. Please note that this will NOT be following best practices of unit testing simply because the initial code wasn’t, from my understanding, following best practices.

The links to the tutorials in this series will appear below and if you would like to follow it then bookmark this page.

1. NH basic concepts part 1- Unit of Work and NHibernate Session

Tagged with: ,
Posted in NHibernate

Leave a Reply

